Kali Linux Troubleshooting

This is a record of common issues that occurred in running Kali Linux.

Cannot connect to the Internet

This is the top one problem that I met in using Kali. So the first time, I ran two lines of command, like the following.

sudo ifconfig eth0 up
sudo dhclient eth0

I know this could work as I changed the default setting before. Also, if I ping an external website, the result shows it’s connected.

A day later, I found that I lost access to the Internet again. If I ping 8.8.8.8, it will show ‘Connect: Network is Unreachable.’ (I hate this because I didn’t change anything. So is Kali such unstable???) Anyway, I checked the network settings of the virtual machine. Then I found this video can explain the networking modes clearly. Credits to the contributor!

So I changed the Adapter 2 configuration.

Screen Shot 2019-10-04 at 5.59.08 pm.png

It was attached to Host-only adapter.

Stuck mouse in VM

This is also a new problem without any change to the VirtualBox. I’m not sure what it caused this problem. But a guess would be insufficient CPU to run the VM and it’s too slow, so it appears that mouse doesn’t move.

I didn’t change the allocation of CPU but followed the instruction online to change the pointing device from USB Tablet to PS/2 Mouse. And it works.

Screen Shot 2019-10-04 at 6.02.01 pm.png

Last but not least, regular updates are necessary. Here’re commands.

apt-get update apt-get upgrade

Something has gone wrong

I updated Kali Linux recently. After that, I can’t log into the environment.

Screen Shot 2020-06-20 at 1.43.23 am

I tried different ways. But only one works. I followed the tutorial shown below.

Basically, it’s entering the sys as root role, and type ‘dpkg –configure -a’

How to enter the sys then? See the next two steps.

Screen Shot 2020-06-20 at 12.20.14 amI chose the recovery mode one.Screen Shot 2020-06-20 at 12.20.59 am

Leave a comment